Me? Calm? A brief pause can do it!

Tibetan master Tsoknyi Rinpoche has a powerful and accessible tool for creating calm in your busy and hectic day: meditate! No incense, quiet space, or chanting needed 🙂

Although I have a regular meditation practice, that doesn’t mean I never feel overwhelmed or anxious during the day.  Far from it! And when it happens, a brief pause in my day makes a big difference. Taking a deep breath and noticing where in my body I feel tension is the first step. Then, I let myself sit with whatever I’m feeling,  giving attention to each breath I take when it gets overwhelming. That’s it!

Slowing down the breath brings the body out of “fight-or-flight” sympathetic mode and into parasympathetic mode, a relaxed and resting state. That’s part of the magic behind meditation. The other part is cultivating awareness: of your thoughts and feelings, and how your body responds to them. By taking even a few seconds to do this, especially when you’re feeling overwhelmed, will help you reset your thoughts and calm your nervous system. And the more you do it, the easier it gets! Happy breathing 🙂

Leave a Reply

