“Hold on, we’re going home”

“Just hold on, we’re going home.”

–Drake

This afternoon, I was revisiting a lesson in my online compassion course and came across some solid advice for increasing self compassion (which falls under the yogic principle of ahimsa, or non-violence). Two words: slow down.

Since I started my one year of travel this August, I’ve had a lot more time to notice who I am, how I communicate (or don’t), what I do with my time, and when I get excited or happy about something. And also when I get upset, frustrated, or lose patience with something. A big challenge to getting over being upset or angry is wanting to speed up, get angrier and louder. Don’t get me wrong – I’m all for getting it out of your system and not holding on or pushing down what you’re experiencing. But I think slowing down might be the golden ticket to getting it out of your system AND being productive.

Two reasons:
1. Slowing down means taking a pause, taking a break. It gives you time to clear your head and cool off.
2. Slowing down doesn’t mean stopping. It means coming back to the issue after giving yourself space and empathy towards your current state.

One way to practice this is coming up with a phrase to say to yourself when you feel yourself getting upset. This is where Drake comes in. He inspired my phrase: “hold on, we’re going home.” It reminds me to pause and bring things back home to the stillness that resides deep within. Thanks, Drizzy.


Image credit: VIBE

Leave a Reply

